FactHub dataset table

Prices by verification route and source

Every price we found for each route the measure allows, labeled by what kind of price it is. A blank price means the service is not offered by that seller.

Coverage: Medicare data: calendar 2024. Apple Health fee schedules: effective 2026-07-01 and 2026-10-01. Consumer and press prices: as read on 2026-10-23.

Node: dataset:sex-verification-test-costs:1:table:prices

Contained in What sex verification under I-638 would cost, by route.

What this dataset measures

The measure lists three bases a provider may rely on, so we priced each one from the most official sources we could open without an account or a license agreement: Washington Apple Health's October 2026 fee schedule, CMS's 2024 Medicare data on what was paid and billed for each lab code, the two largest labs' direct-to-consumer pages, a retail clinic price list, and the plan rules that decide whether a family pays. Press-reported prices are included and labeled because they are the figures voters have seen.

Curated data tables

Prices by verification route and source

Every price we found for each route the measure allows, labeled by what kind of price it is. A blank price means the service is not offered by that seller.

Unit of observation: One price for one service from one payer or seller

sex_verification_test_prices.csv text/csv · 6.7 KB (6,911 bytes)

All 28 rows 11 columns Download the file

All 28 rows
row_id route item cpt_code price_usd US dollars price_type payer_or_seller as_of eligible_patients source_id note
chk-aca-inn checkup
Well-child preventive visit, in-network, ACA-compliant plan
— 0 family_cost_share
Private insurance (ACA preventive rule)
2026-10-23
Children
healthcare-gov-children
HealthCare.gov: generally $0 in network for Marketplace plans and many other plans; $0 is not guaranteed in all cases.
chk-ah-family checkup
EPSDT well-child checkup, Apple Health client
99394 0 family_cost_share
Washington Apple Health (Medicaid)
2026-07-01
Ages 5-20, one per calendar year
doh-well-care
Washington DOH: Apple Health covers a yearly well visit at no cost; HCA expects one checkup every calendar year for ages 5 through 20.
chk-ah-rate checkup
EPSDT well-child checkup, established patient age 12-17 (state payment, non-facility)
99394 82.07 payer_rate
Washington Apple Health (Medicaid)
2026-07-01
Ages 12-17
hca-epsdt-fs
What HCA pays the provider, not what the family pays.
chk-cash-mc checkup
Sports physical, retail clinic cash price (no insurance accepted)
— 82 consumer_cash
CVS MinuteClinic
2026-10-23
Not stated on price list
cvs-minuteclinic-prices
Families already need a sports physical; this is not an added cost of verification. Whether a retail-clinic clinician is the student's "personal health care provider" under the measure is unsettled.
t-ah-rate testosterone
Total testosterone, serum
84403 20.65 payer_rate
Washington Apple Health (Medicaid)
2026-10-01
All ages
hca-physician-fs
HCA maximum allowable fee. HCA billing guide: expedited prior authorization is not required for clients assigned female at birth or anyone 17 and younger.
t-mcr-us testosterone
Total testosterone, serum: Medicare average allowed amount, U.S.
84403 25.19 payer_rate
Medicare Part B
2024
Medicare beneficiaries
cms-mup-geo-2024
1,288,334 services in 2024.
t-mcr-wa testosterone
Total testosterone, serum: Medicare average allowed amount, Washington
84403 25.26 payer_rate
Medicare Part B
2024
Medicare beneficiaries
cms-mup-geo-2024
19,549 services in 2024.
t-chg-us testosterone
Total testosterone, serum: average submitted (billed) charge to Medicare, U.S.
84403 148.21 billed_charge
Labs billing Medicare
2024
Medicare beneficiaries
cms-mup-geo-2024
A list price; Medicare pays far less. An uninsured patient may be billed near list unless the lab offers a self-pay price.
t-chg-wa testosterone
Total testosterone, serum: average submitted (billed) charge to Medicare, Washington
84403 144.99 billed_charge
Labs billing Medicare
2024
Medicare beneficiaries
cms-mup-geo-2024
A list price, as above.
t-quest-dtc testosterone
Testosterone test, direct to consumer (test $69 plus $6 physician service fee)
84403 75 consumer_cash
Quest Diagnostics (questhealth.com)
2026-10-23
Patients 18 to 100 only
quest-testosterone
Not available for students under 18.
t-labcorp-dtc testosterone
Total Testosterone Test, direct to consumer (list price)
84403 69 consumer_cash
Labcorp OnDemand
2026-10-23
Ages 18-100; site says clinically appropriate only for people assigned male at birth
labcorp-ondemand-testosterone
Shown on sale for $51.75 on 2026-10-23. Not available for students under 18.
t-press testosterone
Routine blood testosterone test without insurance, as reported
— 162 press_reported
Reported by The Spokesman-Review (an op-ed attributes $162.75 to Labcorp)
2026-09-27
Not stated
spokesman-2026-09-27
We could not find this price on a public Labcorp page.
k-ah-88230 karyotype
Tissue culture, lymphocytes (karyotype step 1)
88230 93.19 payer_rate
Washington Apple Health (Medicaid)
2026-10-01
All ages
hca-physician-fs
No prior authorization listed.
k-ah-88262 karyotype
Chromosome analysis, count 15-20 cells, 2 karyotypes (step 2)
88262 100.39 payer_rate
Washington Apple Health (Medicaid)
2026-10-01
All ages
hca-physician-fs
No prior authorization listed.
k-ah-88291 karyotype
Cytogenetics interpretation and report (step 3)
88291 20.07 payer_rate
Washington Apple Health (Medicaid)
2026-10-01
All ages
hca-physician-fs —
k-mcr-88230 karyotype
Tissue culture, lymphocytes: Medicare average allowed, U.S.
88230 113.29 payer_rate
Medicare Part B
2024
Medicare beneficiaries
cms-mup-geo-2024
Only 147 services in 2024; most cytogenetics is billed by hospitals, outside this file.
k-mcr-88262 karyotype
Chromosome analysis, 15-20 cells: Medicare average allowed, U.S.
88262 122.49 payer_rate
Medicare Part B
2024
Medicare beneficiaries
cms-mup-geo-2024
3,540 services in 2024.
k-mcr-88291 karyotype
Cytogenetics interpretation (office setting): Medicare average allowed, U.S.
88291 34.38 payer_rate
Medicare Part B
2024
Medicare beneficiaries
cms-mup-geo-2024
35,722 services in 2024 (place of service O).
k-chg-88230 karyotype
Tissue culture, lymphocytes: average billed charge, U.S.
88230 501.7 billed_charge
Labs billing Medicare
2024
Medicare beneficiaries
cms-mup-geo-2024 —
k-chg-88262 karyotype
Chromosome analysis, 15-20 cells: average billed charge, U.S.
88262 479.71 billed_charge
Labs billing Medicare
2024
Medicare beneficiaries
cms-mup-geo-2024 —
k-chg-88291 karyotype
Cytogenetics interpretation (office setting): average billed charge, U.S.
88291 80.78 billed_charge
Labs billing Medicare
2024
Medicare beneficiaries
cms-mup-geo-2024 —
k-press karyotype
Chromosome testing, as reported
— 1310 press_reported
Reported by The Spokesman-Review (an op-ed attributes "more than $1,300" to Labcorp)
2026-09-27
Not stated
spokesman-2026-09-27
We could not find this price on a public Labcorp page.
k-quest-dtc karyotype
Chromosome analysis sold direct to consumers
— — consumer_cash
Quest Diagnostics (questhealth.com)
2026-10-23
Not applicable
quest-catalog
Not offered: no chromosome, karyotype or SRY test in the consumer catalog.
k-labcorp-dtc karyotype
Chromosome analysis sold direct to consumers
— — consumer_cash
Labcorp OnDemand
2026-10-23
Not applicable
labcorp-ondemand-catalog
Not offered: genetic tests listed are a celiac HLA test and a health-risk panel, not a sex-chromosome test.
s-ah-88271 sry-fish
DNA probe, each (FISH), component
88271 17.14 payer_rate
Washington Apple Health (Medicaid)
2026-10-01
All ages
hca-physician-fs
Component only. How a lab bills an SRY FISH test varies; we found no published price for an SRY test as a package.
s-ah-88275 sry-fish
Interphase in situ hybridization, 100-300 cells, component
88275 40.95 payer_rate
Washington Apple Health (Medicaid)
2026-10-01
All ages
hca-physician-fs
Component only.
s-mcr-88271 sry-fish
DNA probe, each (FISH): Medicare average allowed, U.S.
88271 20.97 payer_rate
Medicare Part B
2024
Medicare beneficiaries
cms-mup-geo-2024
Component only.
s-mcr-88275 sry-fish
Interphase in situ hybridization, 100-300 cells: Medicare average allowed, U.S.
88275 50.08 payer_rate
Medicare Part B
2024
Medicare beneficiaries
cms-mup-geo-2024
Component only.
11 field definitions
FieldTypeMeaningUnitsValue type
row_id string Stable row id. — observed
route string checkup (a record or exam at a routine visit), testosterone (serum test), karyotype (chromosome analysis) or sry-fish (SRY by FISH, component codes). — derived
item string The service as the source describes it. — observed
cpt_code string CPT code, where the source gives one. — observed
price_usd number The price. Blank when the seller does not offer the service (not zero). Zero means the family pays nothing. US dollars observed
price_type string family_cost_share (what the family pays), payer_rate (what Apple Health or Medicare pays the provider), billed_charge (average list charge labs submitted to Medicare), consumer_cash (price to buy the test directly) or press_reported. — derived
payer_or_seller string Who pays or sells at this price. — observed
as_of string Effective date, data year, or the date the page was read. — observed
eligible_patients string Who can get the service at this price, as the source states. — observed
source_id string The id of the entry in sources. — observed
note string Caveats for this row. — derived

Supporting files

Source snapshots, manifests, quality reports, documentation, and other materials used to produce or review this release.

  • build_costs.js Transformation manifest · text/javascript · 9.9 KB (10,184 bytes)

    Node.js script that writes both CSV files and the karyotype sums from the values read from each source.

  • dataset_parts.json Documentation · application/json · 23.5 KB (24,044 bytes)

    This dataset's sources, table definitions, saved analyses and limitations as JSON, exactly as stored in the dataset.

Sources

  1. Washington Health Care Authority, Physician-Related Services fee schedule, effective October 1, 2026 Apple Health maximum allowable fees for CPT 84403, 88230, 88262, 88271, 88275 and 88291.

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. Washington state public record; CPT codes and descriptions are copyright American Medical Association. Figures quoted with attribution; the source document is linked, not hosted.

    Reliability: Government. HCA runs Apple Health, Washington's Medicaid program, and publishes these fee schedules for billing. Fees are what the state pays providers.

  2. Washington Health Care Authority, EPSDT Well-Child fee schedule, effective July 1, 2026 Apple Health payment for a well-child checkup, CPT 99394 (established patient, age 12-17).

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. Washington state public record; CPT codes and descriptions are copyright American Medical Association. Figures quoted with attribution; the source document is linked, not hosted.

    Reliability: Government. Official Apple Health fee schedule for EPSDT well-child checkups.

  3. Washington Health Care Authority, EPSDT Well-Child Program billing guide, July 1, 2026 How often Apple Health expects well-child checkups (one per calendar year for ages 5 through 20).

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. Washington state public record. Figures quoted with attribution; the source document is linked, not hosted.

    Reliability: Government. Official billing guide for Apple Health well-child checkups.

  4. Washington State Department of Health, Child and adolescent well-care visits States that children 0-20 can get a free well visit each year and that most plans, including Apple Health, cover it at no cost.

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. Washington state public record. Figures quoted with attribution; the source document is linked, not hosted.

    Reliability: Government. Consumer guidance from Washington's health department. It promotes well-child visits.

  5. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Medicare Physician & Other Practitioners - by Geography and Service, 2024 data Medicare average allowed amounts and average submitted charges in 2024 for CPT 84403, 88230, 88262, 88271, 88275 and 88291, national and Washington.

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. U.S. government work, public domain. Figures quoted with attribution; the source document is linked, not hosted.

    Reliability: Government. Built by CMS from Medicare Part B fee-for-service claims. Covers Medicare beneficiaries only, mostly 65 and older; prices for children are not reported.

  6. Quest Diagnostics, questhealth.com: Testosterone Test Consumer price ($69 plus a $6 physician service fee) and age eligibility (patients 18 to 100).

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. Copyright Quest Diagnostics; price quoted for commentary. Figures quoted with attribution; the source document is linked, not hosted.

    Reliability: Industry. Quest sells this test directly to consumers. Prices change and promotions apply.

  7. Labcorp OnDemand: Total Testosterone Test Consumer list price ($69, on sale for $51.75 on 2026-10-23) and age eligibility (18-100).

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. Copyright Laboratory Corporation of America; price quoted for commentary. Figures quoted with attribution; the source document is linked, not hosted.

    Reliability: Industry. Labcorp sells this test directly to consumers. The page says the test is clinically appropriate only for people assigned male at birth.

  8. Quest Diagnostics, questhealth.com: Shop all tests Checked for any chromosome, karyotype or SRY test sold to consumers; none was listed.

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. Copyright Quest Diagnostics. Figures quoted with attribution; the source document is linked, not hosted.

    Reliability: Industry. Quest's consumer catalog as shown on 2026-10-23.

  9. Labcorp OnDemand: All lab tests Checked for any chromosome, karyotype or SRY test sold to consumers; none was listed.

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. Copyright Laboratory Corporation of America. Figures quoted with attribution; the source document is linked, not hosted.

    Reliability: Industry. Labcorp's consumer catalog as shown on 2026-10-23.

  10. CVS MinuteClinic price list Cash price of a sports physical ($82), for which MinuteClinic does not accept insurance.

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. Copyright CVS Health; price quoted for commentary. Figures quoted with attribution; the source document is linked, not hosted.

    Reliability: Industry. National retail-clinic price list as shown on 2026-10-23; prices may differ by state.

  11. HealthCare.gov, Preventive care benefits for children Well-child visits are covered preventive care, generally at no cost in network.

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. U.S. government work, public domain. Figures quoted with attribution; the source document is linked, not hosted.

    Reliability: Government. The federal Marketplace's consumer page on the Affordable Care Act preventive-care rule.

  12. The Spokesman-Review, "Washington voters to decide whether transgender athletes can continue to compete in K-12 girls sports in I-638" (September 27, 2026) The press-reported prices of a testosterone test ($162) and chromosome testing ($1,310).

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. Copyright The Spokesman-Review; figures quoted for commentary. Figures quoted with attribution; the source document is linked, not hosted.

    Reliability: News report. A news story by Mitchell Roland. The prices appear in the reporter's voice, next to quotes from a family physician who opposes the measure; no source for them is named.

  13. U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2024 1-year, Data Profile DP03, Washington Washington residents under 19 with no health insurance (3.9%, margin of error 0.4 points).

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. U.S. government work, public domain. Figures quoted with attribution; the source document is linked, not hosted.

    Reliability: Government. A sample survey; the margin of error is a 90% interval. Retrieved through the Census Data API (variables DP03_0100E, DP03_0101E, DP03_0101PE, DP03_0101PM).

Limitations and reproducibility

Reproducible: Every value was read from the source named in its source_id on 2026-10-23 and typed into build_costs.js, which writes both CSV files and the karyotype sums. Medicare figures come from the CMS data API for dataset 6fea9d79-0129-4e4c-b1b8-23cd86a4f435 (file MUP_PHY_R26_P05_V10_D24_Geo.csv), filtered to the HCPCS codes and to the National and Washington rows. Apple Health figures come from the Maximum Allowable NFS column of HCA's physician-related and EPSDT fee schedule spreadsheets.

  • We did not use the CMS Clinical Laboratory Fee Schedule file for 2026, because CMS serves it only after the user accepts an American Medical Association license. Medicare's 2024 average allowed amounts are what Medicare actually paid, which tracks that fee schedule closely, but they are not the 2026 rates.
  • No published self-pay price for a minor's testosterone or chromosome test was found. The two largest labs sell testosterone tests to consumers only for patients 18 and older, and neither sells a chromosome or SRY test to consumers.
  • Billed charges are what labs list on Medicare claims; uninsured patients often get a lower self-pay price, so billed charges are an upper reference, not a quote.
  • The press-reported prices ($162 and $1,310) could not be traced to a public Labcorp page. They are kept and labeled because voters saw them.
  • Medicare volumes for the karyotype codes are small (147 and 3,540 services in 2024), because most cytogenetics is billed by hospital labs outside this file.
  • SRY testing has no single billing code. We list FISH component rates only and do not total them, because how a lab bills an SRY test varies.
  • Family cost for a checkup depends on the plan, the network and how the visit is billed. HealthCare.gov says $0 is not guaranteed in all cases.
  • Whether insurers or Apple Health would pay for a lab test ordered only to establish sports eligibility has not been stated by any of them. The dataset records prices, not coverage decisions.

Publications using this dataset

Version details

The exact citing versions, and the version of this dataset each cites.

  • Article sex-verification-test-costs — version 2 (published) cites version 1
  • Chart sex-verification-cost-by-route — version 1 (published) cites version 1
  • Briefing wa-i-638 — version 5 (published) cites version 1
  • Briefing wa-i-638 — version 4 (published) cites version 1