FactHub curated dataset

Washington I-638 campaign money by side, donor and measure (2025-26)

Contributions and spending reported to the Washington Public Disclosure Commission by the two main committees on Initiative IL26-638: Let's Go Washington (Sponsored by Brian Heywood), the Yes committee, which also backs IL26-001 and IP26-645, and No Hate in WA State, the No committee, which also opposes IL26-001. Covers the 2025 and 2026 election years through October 23, 2026: donors by type and location, how concentrated each side's money is, and how much of each committee's spending its own reports tie to I-638. Also lists every other committee registered on I-638.

Coverage: 2025 and 2026 election years, contributions received through October 23, 2026

Node: dataset:wa-i638-campaign-finance

What this dataset measures

Built to check who pays for each side of I-638, including the No pamphlet's statement that the measure is "bankrolled by an ultra-conservative mega-donor." Both main committees work on more than one measure, so the dataset separates money a committee raised (shared across its measures) from spending its own reports assign to I-638. All contributions and expenditures of the two committees are taken whole from PDC open data; nothing is sampled. The 2025 election year is included because the I-638 signature drive ran in 2025 and the signatures were filed in January 2026.

Curated data tables

These related tables form this versioned dataset release. Each table has its own downloadable file and field definitions.

Contributions by donor and committee

Each organization giving $5,000 or more and each individual giving $25,000 or more to Let's Go Washington or No Hate in WA State in the 2025 and 2026 election years, plus one aggregate row per donor type and location for smaller donors.

Unit of observation: Donor per committee

View this table

i638_donors.csv text/csv · 14.7 KB (15,075 bytes)
13 field definitions
FieldTypeMeaningUnitsValue type
filer_id string PDC filer ID of the receiving committee. — observed
committee string Committee name as registered. — observed
side string Yes or No on I-638. — derived
donor string Contributor name as reported (Brian Heywood's is normalized from "HEYWOOD BRIAN"), or an aggregate label. — observed
donor_type string FactHub donor type (see limitations). — derived
donor_location string Washington, Outside Washington, or Not reported (unitemized gifts). — derived
cash number Cash contributions. US dollars observed
in_kind number In-kind contributions at the committee's reported value. US dollars observed
total number Cash plus in-kind. US dollars derived
share_of_committee number Share of the committee's 2025-26 receipts. fraction (0-1) derived
election_year_2025 number Part of total reported under the 2025 election year. US dollars observed
election_year_2026 number Part of total reported under the 2026 election year. US dollars observed
receipts integer Number of contribution records. — observed

Money raised by committee and donor type

Totals and each type's share of the committee's 2025-26 receipts.

Unit of observation: Committee and donor type

View this table

i638_raised_by_donor_type.csv text/csv · 1.4 KB (1,472 bytes)
6 field definitions
FieldTypeMeaningUnitsValue type
filer_id string PDC filer ID. — observed
committee string Committee name. — observed
side string Yes or No. — derived
donor_type string Donor type. — derived
total number Total of this type. US dollars derived
share_of_committee number Share of committee receipts. fraction (0-1) derived

Money raised by committee and donor location

Totals and shares from Washington addresses, out-of-state addresses, and unitemized gifts.

Unit of observation: Committee and donor location

View this table

i638_raised_by_location.csv text/csv · 542 bytes
6 field definitions
FieldTypeMeaningUnitsValue type
filer_id string PDC filer ID. — observed
committee string Committee name. — observed
side string Yes or No. — derived
donor_location string Washington, Outside Washington, or Not reported. — derived
total number Total from this location. US dollars derived
share_of_committee number Share of committee receipts. fraction (0-1) derived

Spending assigned to I-638 from each committee's own descriptions

Each committee's itemized expenditures, split by the measure numbers named in each purpose description.

Unit of observation: Committee and election year (2025, 2026, or both)

View this table

i638_spending_allocation.csv text/csv · 1.2 KB (1,210 bytes)
14 field definitions
FieldTypeMeaningUnitsValue type
filer_id string PDC filer ID. — observed
committee string Committee name. — observed
side string Yes or No. — derived
measures string Measures the committee is registered on. — observed
election_years string 2025, 2026, or 2025-2026. — observed
expenditures_total number All itemized expenditures in the period. US dollars observed
described_i638_only number Items whose description names I-638 and no other 2026 measure. US dollars derived
i638_share_of_shared_items number I-638's equal share of items naming I-638 and other measures. US dollars derived
described_i638_total number Spending the committee's own descriptions tie to I-638. US dollars derived
other_measures number Spending tied to other measures, including their shares of shared items. US dollars derived
not_allocated number Items naming no measure (staff, legal, overhead and similar). US dollars derived
i638_with_prorated_overhead number described_i638_total plus I-638's proportional share of not_allocated. US dollars estimated
i638_items integer Number of items naming I-638. — derived
explicit_estimate_minus_equal_split number Where a shared item states its own I-638 figure, that figure minus the equal split, summed (a check on the method). US dollars derived

Committees registered on I-638

Every committee in the PDC 2026 summary whose ballot measures include I-638.

Unit of observation: Committee

View this table

i638_committees.csv text/csv · 1.9 KB (1,993 bytes)
8 field definitions
FieldTypeMeaningUnitsValue type
filer_id string PDC filer ID. — observed
committee string Committee name. — observed
position string for or against. — observed
measures string Ballot measures as registered. — observed
measure_count integer Number of measures listed. — derived
contributions_2026 number PDC 2026 contributions total (all measures). US dollars observed
expenditures_2026 number PDC 2026 expenditures total (all measures). US dollars observed
summary_updated string Date the PDC summary row was last updated. — observed

Supporting files

Source snapshots, manifests, quality reports, documentation, and other materials used to produce or review this release.

  • i638_campaign_finance.js Transformation manifest · text/javascript · 12.8 KB (13,087 bytes)

    Node.js script that downloads the PDC data from data.wa.gov and writes every table.

  • i638_campaign_finance_dataset_parts.json Documentation · application/json · 36.9 KB (37,796 bytes)

    The dataset's tables, field definitions, saved analyses, sources, events and limitations as JSON, as stored in version 1 (figures through October 21, 2026). Later versions' figures are in the CSV tables and saved analyses of the version you are viewing.

  • indorg.js Transformation manifest · text/javascript · 1.8 KB (1,815 bytes)

    Node.js script that computes the individuals-vs-organizations analysis from the same raw PDC contribution downloads.

Saved analyses

Money raised by each main committee, by donor group

Question: How much has each main I-638 committee raised in 2025-26, and from what kinds of donors?

Result: Let's Go Washington raised $7.82 million: Brian Heywood 29.1%, other individuals 48.8%, businesses and other organizations 19.1%, no unions. No Hate in WA State raised $4.44 million: labor unions 40.1%, foundations 24.6%, individuals 15.0%, civil-liberties, LGBTQ and reproductive-rights groups 13.1%.

Operation: Sum of the by-donor-type table into seven donor groups per committee; share = group total / committee total.

Scope: Let's Go Washington and No Hate in WA State, 2025 and 2026 election years, through October 23, 2026. Both totals cover more than one measure.

View this analysis

  • Snapshot; No Hate in WA State was still receiving large gifts in October 2026.
  • Money raised is shared across measures; see spending-on-i638-by-year for spending tied to I-638.

How concentrated each side's money is

Question: What share of each committee's money came from its largest donor and its five largest donors?

Result: Brian Heywood gave 29.1% of Let's Go Washington's money (42.7% in 2025, 16.4% in 2026); its top five donors gave 53.5%. Inatai Foundation gave 22.5% of No Hate in WA State's money; its top five donors gave 62.3%.

Operation: Largest named donor's total and the five largest named donors' totals divided by the committee total; Heywood's share by election year divided by the committee's receipts that year.

Scope: Let's Go Washington and No Hate in WA State, 2025 and 2026 election years, through October 23, 2026.

View this analysis

  • Concentration of a multi-measure committee, not of I-638 money as such.
  • Heywood's 2023-24 loans ($4.66 million outstanding) are excluded because they are not contributions.

Spending each committee's reports tie to I-638, by year

Question: How much has each side spent on I-638, by election year, according to its own expenditure descriptions?

Result: Let's Go Washington's reports tie $1.17 million of its 2025 spending (the signature drive) and $0.19 million of its 2026 spending to I-638. No Hate in WA State's reports tie $0.12 million in 2025 and $1.08 million in 2026 to I-638.

Operation: Sum of expenditure items naming I-638, each split equally across the 2026 measures it names; second column adds I-638's proportional share of items naming no measure.

Scope: Let's Go Washington and No Hate in WA State itemized expenditures, 2025 and 2026 election years, through October 12, 2026 (the latest expenditure date in the data downloaded 2026-10-23).

View this analysis

  • Relies on each committee's own descriptions; the PDC does not check measure splits.
  • No Hate in WA State had about $1.9 million raised but not yet spent as of its latest itemized expenditures (October 12).

In-state and out-of-state money

Question: What share of each committee's money came from donors with Washington addresses?

Result: Donors with Washington addresses gave 91.1% of Let's Go Washington's money and 86.8% of No Hate in WA State's; out-of-state addresses gave 6.0% and 10.2%.

Operation: Sum of contributions by the state in the contributor's reported address.

Scope: Let's Go Washington and No Hate in WA State, 2025 and 2026 election years, through October 23, 2026.

View this analysis

  • A Washington address does not show where an organization's money comes from; national groups such as the SEIU Initiative Fund report Washington addresses.

All committees registered on I-638

Question: How many committees are registered for and against I-638, and how much of each side's registered money is in its main committee?

Result: 3 committees are registered for I-638 and 11 against. Let's Go Washington holds 99.6% of the Yes committees' 2026 receipts and No Hate in WA State 85.3% of the No committees'. None of them works on I-638 alone.

Operation: Count and sum of the committees table by position.

Scope: PDC 2026 campaign finance summary, committees whose measures include I-638.

View this analysis

  • 2026 election year only.

Money from individuals versus organizations

Question: How much of each main committee's money came from individual people rather than organizations, how many individuals gave, and how large was the largest individual gift?

Result: Individuals gave 80.8% of Let's Go Washington's $7.82 million (51.7% excluding Brian Heywood): 1,121 named individuals plus 395 unitemized small receipts. Individuals gave 18.0% of No Hate in WA State's $4.44 million: 731 named individuals plus 145 unitemized receipts; organizations gave 82.0%, and the largest individual total was $50,000.

Operation: Sum of contributions whose PDC contributor_category is Individual (including unitemized small contributions, which PDC reports as individual) and of all others; count of distinct named individual contributors (names compared case-insensitively after trimming); count of unitemized small-contribution records; largest total from one named individual.

Scope: Let's Go Washington and No Hate in WA State, 2025 and 2026 election years, through October 23, 2026.

View this analysis

  • Organizational money can itself come from individuals (for example union dues or a foundation's endowment); this analysis classifies the immediate donor only.
  • Snapshot as of October 23, 2026.

Sources

  1. Washington Public Disclosure Commission: Contributions to Candidates and Political Committees (data.wa.gov kv7h-kjye) Every itemized contribution to Let's Go Washington (HEYWL--535) and No Hate in WA State (FREEW--138), 2025 and 2026 election years

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. Public record (RCW 29B); Washington open data. Public disclosure data; redistributed in aggregate with attribution

    Reliability: Government. Filed by the committees themselves under Washington's campaign disclosure law and published by the PDC. Committees can amend reports, and in-kind values are the committees' own estimates.

  2. Washington Public Disclosure Commission: Expenditures by Candidates and Political Committees (data.wa.gov tijg-9zyp) Each committee's itemized expenditures and their stated purposes, used to assign spending to I-638

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. Public record (RCW 29B); Washington open data. Public disclosure data; redistributed in aggregate with attribution

    Reliability: Government. Purpose descriptions are written by the filing committee. The PDC does not verify how a committee splits shared costs between measures.

  3. Washington Public Disclosure Commission: Campaign Finance Summary (data.wa.gov 3h9x-7bvm) The list of committees registered for or against I-638, the measures each covers, and their 2026 totals

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. Public record (RCW 29B); Washington open data. Public disclosure data; redistributed with attribution

    Reliability: Government. Totals are computed by the PDC from committee filings and updated as reports arrive.

  4. Washington Public Disclosure Commission: Loans to Candidates and Political Committees (data.wa.gov d2ig-r3q4) Brian Heywood's loans to Let's Go Washington

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. Public record (RCW 29B); Washington open data. Public disclosure data; redistributed with attribution

    Reliability: Government. Loans are reported by the borrowing committee, with the lender's name.

  5. Washington Public Disclosure Commission: Independent Campaign Expenditures and Electioneering Communications (data.wa.gov 67cp-h962) Independent expenditures naming I-638 (for the size check in the limitations)

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. Public record (RCW 29B); Washington open data. Public disclosure data; redistributed with attribution

    Reliability: Government. Reported by the sponsors of the advertising; the portion attributed to each measure is the sponsor's own estimate.

  6. Washington Public Disclosure Commission: Enforcement case 192919, Let's Go Washington (Sponsored by Brian Heywood) Outcome of the 2026 complaint about unreported in-kind contributions from a commentator (also in data.wa.gov a4ma-dq6s)

    Retrieved October 23, 2026. Public record. Public government record; short quotation

    Reliability: Government. The PDC's own case record, written by its staff. The complaint was filed on behalf of Washingtonians for Ethical Government.

Limitations and reproducibility

Fully reproducible from public data: The included script i638_campaign_finance.js queries data.wa.gov (PDC datasets kv7h-kjye contributions, tijg-9zyp expenditures, 3h9x-7bvm summary and d2ig-r3q4 loans) and writes every table. Donor-type labels for organizations are a fixed list in the script. Totals will differ if run later because committees keep filing and amending reports.

  • Snapshot: the latest receipts in the data are dated October 23, 2026. No Hate in WA State reported $1.4 million from two donors between September 22 and October 21 alone, and $95,000 more on October 22-23. Itemized expenditures in the data run through October 12; by then it had spent $2.51 million of the $4.44 million it has raised, so its I-638 spending will grow before November 3.
  • Both main committees work on more than one measure. Contributions are not earmarked by measure, so a donor's money cannot be traced to I-638. Let's Go Washington backs IL26-001 (parental rights), IL26-638 and IP26-645 (income-tax repeal); No Hate in WA State opposes IL26-001 and IL26-638.
  • Spending is assigned to I-638 only from the measure numbers in each expenditure's own purpose description, split equally across the measures it names. Some descriptions give their own estimates; for Let's Go Washington they differ from an equal split by $32,522 in total. Several No Hate descriptions list a dollar figure per measure equal to the whole item; the equal split is used. Spending that names no measure (staff, legal, overhead) is shown separately and, in one column, prorated.
  • Donor type is FactHub's classification of each organization by name. Inatai Foundation describes itself as a 501(c)(4) philanthropy; it is grouped with foundations. Gender Justice League, the ACLU of Washington, the Human Rights Campaign, Lavender Rights Project, Pro-Choice Washington, Planned Parenthood Alliance Advocates and Planned Parenthood Great Northwest, Hawaii, Alaska, Indiana, Kentucky are grouped as civil-liberties, LGBTQ and reproductive-rights groups. SEIU Washington State Council is grouped with labor unions.
  • Donor location is the state in the contributor's reported address. National organizations can report a Washington address (SEIU Initiative Fund), and the location of the money behind an organization (for example Washington Rising Inc of Franklin, Tennessee) is not disclosed in these records.
  • Individuals who gave less than $25,000 to a committee, and organizations under $5,000, are aggregated by type and location rather than named. No addresses are published.
  • Brian Heywood's loans to Let's Go Washington ($4.66 million, made in 2023-24 and carried forward) are not contributions and are excluded; LGW reported no new loans in 2025 or 2026.
  • Other committees on I-638 (county parties, Defend Washington, Planned Parenthood Advocates of Greater Washington, Seattle Indivisible and others) are listed with their 2026 totals but not itemized. All of them cover several measures, and some gave to No Hate in WA State, so their totals overlap.
  • Independent expenditures and electioneering communications on I-638 reported to the PDC totaled about $16,400 (portion attributed to I-638) and are not included in the committee totals.

Publications using this dataset

Version details

The exact citing versions, and the version of this dataset each cites.

  • Article wa-i638-campaign-funding — version 5 (published) cites version 3
  • Chart i638-campaign-money-by-donor-group — version 3 (published) cites version 3
  • Chart i638-spending-by-side-and-year — version 3 (published) cites version 3
  • Briefing wa-i-638 — version 5 (published) cites version 3
  • Briefing wa-i-638 — version 4 (published) cites version 3