Audits
Pure water conducts electricity, but very poorly.
Version 2. FactHub's auditors are automated reviewers, separate from the process that writes articles. Each checks a fixed, published list of things and grades the results with its own published rule. They can be wrong; an audit is not a human expert review. All auditors
Across versions
| Version | First Look | Overall Review | Skeptic | Standards |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Version 2 | 5/5 | 5/6 | 4/5 | 5/7 |
First Look
A: Passes the first look: nothing obviously wrong. Minor notes may be reported as feedback without lowering the grade.
- Title matches the evidence
- No obvious contradictions
- Plausible justification
- Sources are relevant
- Common questions answered
5 checks
-
Pass Title matches the evidence
Title says pure water conducts very poorly, which matches the finding of False and the precision and ionization evidence.
-
Pass No obvious contradictions
Finding False, answer, and conclusion all say the claim of zero conductivity is wrong; the 0.055 µS/cm and 18.2 MΩ·cm values are reciprocal and consistent.
-
Pass Plausible justification
Conclusion gives the reason (self-ionization gives a small nonzero conductivity, dissolved ions add more) which follows from the evidence.
-
Pass Sources are relevant
Peer-reviewed conductivity study, IAPWS/NIST ionization references, and USGS conductivity page are all on topic for the claim.
-
Pass Common questions answered
Four common questions each have a response that addresses the specific objection.
Coverage: Read the full article payload; sources judged by name/title/description/role only, per First Look's rules; no source snapshots read.
Overall Review
A: Virtually all major claims are accurate and well supported by primary or high-quality evidence, with no significant errors, distortions, or misleading omissions. Sourcing is strong and transparent, context is fair, and caveats are clearly noted. A single minor note for the author does not lower the grade.
- Context is complete
- Central claims are accurate
- Claims are supported and labeled
- Sourcing is strong and transparent
- Framing is fair and neutral
- Uncertainty is stated
6 checks · 1 concern
-
Concern (minor) Context is complete
Quantify 'far better': add a sourced typical conductivity range for tap or natural water next to the 0.055 uS/cm benchmark in the ordinary-water evidence.
The article supplies the key context: temperature dependence, CO2 and container contamination, the distinction between ideal pure water and distilled/deionized samples, and a clear safety disclaimer. One helpful piece is missing: it says ordinary water 'conducts far better' and 'normally conducts far better' but never gives a figure for tap or natural water, so readers cannot see the scale of the difference (typically several orders of magnitude). The impression is unchanged, so this is Minor. No contrary evidence is omitted; the claim's 'at all' wording is literally false by any standard reference. Confidence: High.
About evidence:ordinary-water-ions, conclusion The finding
-
Pass Central claims are accurate
Main claim: the assertion that pure water does not conduct electricity at all is False, because self-ionization gives ultrapure water a small nonzero conductivity (about 0.055 uS/cm, 18.2 MOhm-cm at 25 C), while dissolved ions make ordinary water far more conductive. Claim ratings: (1) Finding 'False' for 'does not conduct electricity at all' - True; the literal zero-conductivity claim contradicts both the measurement and equilibrium evidence. (2) 0.055 uS/cm and 18.2 MOhm-cm at 25 C, reciprocal values - True; these are the standard ultrapure-water benchmarks (well-established), and the Light abstract confirms the paper reports 'the most accurate values to date' for 'conductivity of water from 0-100 C' with resistivity, though the figures themselves sit behind the paywall. (3) Light et al. used closed recirculating measurement and analyzed temperature and impurity effects - True; abstract: 'multiple-pass, closed, recirculating flow conductivity system ... improved analysis of temperature and impurity effects'. (4) Self-ionization supplies H+/OH- carriers whose mobility yields conductivity - True; Light's table includes 'hydroxide and hydrogen ion mobilities, water ionization constant'; NIST page confirms the CRC tables reflect 'a new standard formulation adopted in 2024' by IAPWS. (5) Dissolved salts raise conductivity - True (well-established; USGS page unreachable). (6) USGS calls pure water an insulator - Unverifiable here (source unreachable), peripheral. Confidence: High for central claims.
-
Pass Claims are supported and labeled
Each central claim is tied to cited evidence: the numerical benchmark to evidence:fundamental-water-conductivity (Light et al.), the mechanism to evidence:water-ionization-equilibrium (IAPWS, NIST), and the role of dissolved ions to evidence:ordinary-water-ions (USGS). The article separates fact from inference carefully, e.g. the limitation that 'The ionization constant alone does not equal conductivity' and the conclusion's 'figures reported without conditions should not be treated as universal constants'. Safety statements are explicitly framed as out of scope rather than asserted. Confidence: High.
-
Pass Sourcing is strong and transparent
The numerical benchmark rests on a peer-reviewed primary measurement paper (Electrochemical and Solid-State Letters, DOI given); the mechanism rests on the IAPWS international formulation and a NIST/CRC evaluated-data record, which are authoritative primary reference sources; USGS is used only for the uncontested role of dissolved ions, and the article itself flags and corrects USGS's simplified 'insulator' wording. Source-to-claim mapping is explicit in method steps 3-5. Two sources (IAPWS PDF, USGS page) could not be read, so their exact contents are unconfirmed, but their institutional quality is clear and their claims are uncontested. Confidence: Medium-High.
-
Pass Framing is fair and neutral
The article is respectful of the original claim, calling the insulator description 'useful shorthand but not literally exact', and rates the literal 'at all' version it names. Objections are answered factually without ridicule. The safety framing is cautious and appropriate rather than alarmist. No loaded language found. Confidence: High.
-
Pass Uncertainty is stated
Uncertainty is stated proportionately: the benchmark is described as 'limiting' and 'temperature-specific', the limitations note it is 'difficult to maintain in an open vessel', and the conclusion gives High confidence specifically 'for the 25 C pure-water benchmark and the role of dissolved ions' while noting 'actual samples vary with temperature, handling, and contamination'. The evidence is not contested, so High confidence is not overstated. Confidence: High.
Coverage: Read the full article payload. Sources: Light et al. (DOI 10.1149/1.1836121) read live on IOPscience, abstract and metadata only (full text paywalled), so the exact 0.055 uS/cm and 18.2 MOhm-cm figures were not seen in the snapshot; NIST publication 958716 page read live (abstract only); IAPWS R11-24 PDF could not be read (FactHub cannot read PDF sources); USGS Water Science School page unreachable on two attempts (timeout, no Wayback capture), so the article's description of what USGS says (that it calls pure water an insulator) could not be verified; Wikimedia Commons image page read (licence and credit confirmed: CC BY-SA 3.0, author J C D). Claims resting on the unreadable sources are well-established, uncontested physical chemistry and are corroborated in part by the Light abstract (its coefficient table includes the water ionization constant and H+/OH- mobilities) and the NIST page (confirms the 2024 IAPWS ionization-constant formulation), so no check was marked NotChecked; confidence is lowered accordingly where noted.
Skeptic
A: The rating and confidence follow from the evidence, the article rates the real claim, and the strongest objections are answered. A single minor note for the author does not lower the grade.
- Strongest objections answered
- Rates the real claim
- Rating follows from the evidence
- Confidence matches the evidence
- Evidence is independent
5 checks · 1 concern
-
Concern (minor) Strongest objections answered
Add an objection addressing whether 'pure water doesn't conduct' is a fair practical approximation at 18.2 MOhm-cm, and explain why the literal claim still rates False.
The strongest challenge to a False label is that, for practical purposes, ultrapure water behaves as an insulator, so calling the claim False may look pedantic. The objections listed address purity of ions, conductivity as a purity test, distilled-water readings, and safety, but not this one. The summary partly answers it ('useful shorthand but not literally exact') and the conclusion says 'conducts electricity very poorly, not that it cannot conduct', so the reader still reaches the right belief; an explicit objection with a comparison of 18.2 MOhm-cm to ordinary insulators and conductors would answer it with evidence rather than assertion. Secondary-level gap: Minor. Confidence: Medium.
About conclusion The finding
-
Pass Rates the real claim
Claim: 'Pure water does not conduct electricity at all.' The circulating version is usually 'pure water does not conduct electricity' or 'pure water is an insulator'; the added 'at all' makes the literal reading explicit but does not create a strawman, since the common claim is typically taught and repeated as a literal statement that the water itself carries no current. The article also engages the looser version in its summary ('useful shorthand but not literally exact'). The conclusion stays in scope: material conductivity at 25 C, with safety explicitly excluded. Confidence: High.
-
Pass Rating follows from the evidence
Before reading the finding I would rate the literal claim False: evidence fundamental-water-conductivity gives a measured nonzero limiting conductivity ('approximately 0.055 uS/cm'), and water-ionization-equilibrium gives an independent mechanism ('equal small concentrations of hydrogen and hydroxide species ... their mobility makes conductivity nonzero'). A claim of zero conductivity is contradicted outright, not partly. The article's finding is False and its answer ('even ultrapure water conducts slightly') agrees. Confidence: High.
-
Pass Confidence matches the evidence
High confidence rests on two different kinds of evidence (direct precision measurement and the thermodynamic ionization equilibrium) that each independently show nonzero conductivity, plus USGS for the uncontested role of dissolved ions. The conclusion scopes the confidence ('High for the 25 C pure-water benchmark and the role of dissolved ions'), and limitations that matter are stated (temperature specificity, open-vessel contamination, ionization constant alone is not conductivity). The title 'Pure water conducts electricity, but very poorly.' does not overstate. I would also give High. Confidence: High.
-
Pass Evidence is independent
The three items use different methods and institutions: a closed-loop conductivity measurement (Light et al., 2005), an international thermodynamic formulation plus evaluated reference data (IAPWS, NIST, 2024-2025), and a USGS educational synthesis. Within water-ionization-equilibrium, the NIST record and the IAPWS release are closely related (evaluated tables for the same constant), but they are presented as one item, not as separate confirmations. The measurement in item one and the equilibrium basis in item two are distinct lines that converge on a nonzero conductivity. Confidence: Medium-High.
Coverage: Examined the full article payload: claim, finding, answer, confidence, title, summary, context, conclusion, all three evidence items with methods, institutions, years and limitations, four objections, six method steps, and source metadata. Per the Skeptic's division of labor, no source snapshots were read and evidence was taken as stated.
Standards
B: Meets the standard, with several things to polish.
- Title states the finding
- Each section does its job
- Verdict fields agree and stand alone
- Limitations are specific
- Tone is measured and respectful
- Readers can verify it
- Consistent house style
7 checks · 2 concerns
-
Concern (minor) Title states the finding
Change seoTitle to state the finding, e.g. "Does Pure Water Conduct Electricity? Yes, Very Poorly (0.055 uS/cm at 25 C)".
Title 'Pure water conducts electricity, but very poorly.' leads with what is true, names the subject, resolves the claim, and does not repeat the myth: meets the rule. seoTitle 'Does Pure Water Conduct Electricity? Values at 25 C' uses search wording but does not state the finding; the rule says seoTitle 'may use the wording people search with as long as it states the finding'. Minor (seoTitle that does not state the finding).
About conclusion The finding
-
Concern (minor) Each section does its job
Cut the seven-sentence summary to one sentence naming the evidence, e.g. "Precision measurements and water's self-ionization equilibrium show pure water conducts slightly."
Rule: 'summary is one sentence naming the strongest independent lines of evidence.' The summary runs seven sentences and carries context and caveats (temperature specificity, contamination, safety scope) that already appear in keyPoints, context, and editorialNote. Other fields meet their rules: keyPoints state what the evidence establishes; context is one short framing paragraph; the conclusion synthesizes mechanism, figures, conditions, and scoped confidence rather than restating the verdict; editorialNote states scope, caveats ('not electrocution advice'), and review status ('No external specialist review has been recorded'). No hand-written independence note. Minor.
About conclusion The finding
-
Pass Verdict fields agree and stand alone
Read as: FactHub rates the claim "Pure water does not conduct electricity at all." False (High confidence): Water self-ionizes, so even ultrapure water conducts slightly; dissolved salts make tap water conduct far better. The claim is stated as it circulates, not as its correction, reads naturally in quotes, and the answer says what is true and stands alone. Title, answer, summary ('useful shorthand but not literally exact'), and conclusion ('conducts electricity very poorly, not that it cannot conduct') all agree with False; no stale wording from the earlier free-text finding.
-
Pass Limitations are specific
Each limitation is specific: fundamental-water-conductivity notes the benchmark is 'temperature-specific and difficult to maintain in an open vessel'; water-ionization-equilibrium notes 'The ionization constant alone does not equal conductivity'; ordinary-water-ions notes the USGS page's 'simplified language' and that it 'is not a safety standard'. None is boilerplate.
-
Pass Tone is measured and respectful
Language is measured ('very poorly', 'approximately', 'generally', 'useful shorthand but not literally exact'). Objection responses are short and evidence-based, e.g. 'That conclusion does not follow. Conductivity is only one property...', with no ridicule or sarcasm. No unjustified absolutes.
-
Pass Readers can verify it
All five sources carry specific role labels ('Primary conductivity and resistivity measurement source', 'Authoritative ionization-equilibrium formulation', etc.), full titles, identifiers (DOI 10.1149/1.1836121, IAPWS R11-24, NIST publication 958716), and descriptions of why each was chosen. The key numerical claim is anchored by a DOI. Method steps cover claim definition (step 1), assignment of distinct source types to distinct sub-claims (steps 3-5), sources reviewed (steps 3-5), and recorded limits (steps 2, 4, 5, 6).
-
Pass Consistent house style
Reader-visible text is consistent: temperatures written '25 C' throughout, the 0.055 uS/cm and 18.2 MOhm-cm figures identical everywhere they appear, American spelling, names (IAPWS, NIST, USGS, Light and colleagues) used consistently and spelled out in institution and source fields, units explained in words in the summary ('microsiemens per centimeter', 'megohm-centimeters'). No typos or leftover drafting text found.
Coverage: Examined only the article payload: title, seoTitle, description, claim, finding, answer, confidence, summary, keyPoints, context, conclusion, three evidence items and limitations, four objections and responses, six method steps, editorialNote, five sources with roles, titles, identifiers and descriptions, image caption and alt text. No web or source snapshots used.